1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Please welcome Irisado and Borgnine to the Moderation team! They have proved themselves invaluable for the past few years and now they may make their efforts to make this forum a great place direct!
  3. The General's handbook has been updated, what fun awaits the undying hordes?

Baleful Realmgate Rule query

Discussion in 'Ethereal Edicts' started by Eyeless, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. Eyeless

    Eyeless Wight King

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Hi guys.

    I got a rule I need clarification with. The Baleful Realmgate Hazardous Journey. It says when you make a journey you can set up your unit within 6" of any table edge or another realmgate. Does this imply you can set them up even if they are within 3" of any enemy models? Like the summoning / ambushing / reinforcements all specify that you strictly can't be in X" range of the enemy. Or does it conflict with the generic rule that you can't move within 3"? Got an ongoing tournament the next 6 weeks and I want to be all set up with tactics.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  2. The Sun King

    The Sun King Imperator Staff Member True Blood

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,838
    Moved this to the right subforum.
     
  3. Eyeless

    Eyeless Wight King

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    xD @The Sun King sry it's kinda hard without tooltips :c and thanks =]
     
  4. Demian

    Demian Vampire Count True Blood

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,245
    I would think that, regardless of additional context, no unit may be within 3'' of another unless it declared a Charge.

    Summoning /ambushing restrictions always limit your placement of new units to beyond that point so it doesn't conflict with it.
     
  5. Eyeless

    Eyeless Wight King

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    @Demian In the meantime I also asked on the AoS facebook official page and the answer was that yes, currently you can teleport right into combat since there is no restriction. They will pass it along to the rules guys in case they want to amend anything but for now you can. My guess is that it's a risk - return tactic and to be fair it would be fairly easy to counter the gate if you could just position your troops in a way that he can't emerge from the gate. don't forget you'r risking to lose entire units just by travelling in there! not the mention the explosion if a double is rolled on the gate.
     
    Undead4Life likes this.
  6. Demian

    Demian Vampire Count True Blood

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,245
    Oh! alright then!

    I can see why you could, given the risk involved and to make it way more menacing. Thanks for the clarification! =D
     
  7. The Sun King

    The Sun King Imperator Staff Member True Blood

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,838
    What wonderful world we live in where we can as GW for help :D
     
    Undead4Life likes this.

Share This Page