• It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more and sign-up! here.

Ravenfeld

Skeleton
May 7, 2010
California
So I have read quite a bit recently in regards to the application of spears in 8th edition (on this forum mainly) and since I am just getting started (I bought a War Wagon on Ebay to turn into a Corpse Cart, I'm excited!) I wanted to know if I should actually equip my skeletons with spears! It seems like they are doubly useful due to fear reducing weapon skill to 1 (potentially) and fighting in three ranks instead of just two! Not to mention that a 6+ ward save with hand weapon / shield seems a little less badass. The reason I ask is because I am not made of money and when I equip my bones they are gunna stay that way!

Thoughts?

-- Ravenfeld

DarkMan

Zombie
Apr 19, 2010
I am sadly in the boat with my skeletons with HW and shields but will keep them as that their stuck together and sprayed but not going to break arms off for the sake of extra rank attack.

Tribun

Skeleton
May 15, 2010
Giessen
You can also play spearskellies as equipped with just handweapons. wysiwyg forbiddes ar more not a minor!

Disciple of Nagash

Oldblood
Staff member
Feb 12, 2008
Some one else had the really good idea of equipping half their unit with HW & Shields and the other half Spears. He then put the models at the front that were actually being equipped that way for that game. Not sure if this would be ok in tourneys etc, but I thought it was an excellent suggestion.

Failing that it seems that HW & Shields would still be the way to most probably go, as our skellies are too poor to really benefit from the extra rank attacks. I personally would wait until these rumours are confirmed though.

Gokamok

Grave Guard
Apr 6, 2010