• It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more and sign-up! here.

HERO

Wight King
Mar 25, 2009
One of my other armies is Skaven and I've got some experiences to share with you guys:

1. As a VC player, there's very little things that can answer a unit of Storm Fiends with Rattling Cannons. Warpstone weapons are magical and 3 of these dudes puts out 9D6 S5 AP shots at BS3, ignoring long range, moving or multiple shots while re-rolling wounds. The only thing that penalizes them is cover mechanics. I've had a unit of 3 put 19 wounds on a unit of knights the other day, leaving him with the champion and 2 chars, before a WLC erased them all.

2. VC have no shooting to answer these guys, while Terrorgheists can be answered by WLCs, Doomwheels or just shooting from the Storm Fiends. The best solution to a knight-bus now is to pure units of Dire Wolves in front of them and hope that enough chaff die while still providing the knights with cover.

3. The Storm Fiends are not very durable, and are very expensive to field. Three of them runs you 255 points and that's pretty expensive for T4 4W models with virtually no save (light armor 6+). Ghouls are the obvious hard counter to these guys, for the cheap, but honestly so is anything else that can touch and wound them. My rare setup for Skaven right now looks like a unit of 3x Storm Fiends with Ratting Cannons, 2x WLC and a Doomwheel.

What do you guys think about these new fat rats?

najo

Mortarch of the Dark Soul
True Blood
Dec 23, 2012
Oregon
Gaze of Nagash and Death Snipe them ;) A 50+ zombie or skeleton delivery bus with a vampire on foot make short work too.

Blutsauger

Vampire Count
Apr 10, 2013
Using wolves for cover sounds like the only solid tactic. Vargs behind cover will need a 7+ to hit, and won't be penalised by the intervening cover when it comes time to charge.