• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Recent content by Lord Fear

  1. Lord Fear

    Invocation Question

    I find it hugely ironic that maxtoreader has the word "reader" in his name, because he clearly has HUGE issues with the concept, from his very first post in this thread where he was telling us how the Hunger works wrongly, to his inability to read the High Elf FAQ properly, to where we are now...
  2. Lord Fear

    Invocation Question

    Nope, check the HE FAQ, it talks about a "successful casting roll", which refers to the diceroll itself, in that it must reach the casting value for the spell to be IF. Similar words, but different meaning :) P36, first non-bold line under "Spell resolution".
  3. Lord Fear

    Invocation Question

    Sorry, what's the Elves book thing? I've missed that. I can only make an educated guess on Dark Acolyte is supposed to work: +D3 to the casting roll. Now, that is entirely supposition, but the fact that an army book has a reference to a spell and mentions "successful casting" in a sentence...
  4. Lord Fear

    screaming at dudes

    Things like Mortis Engine exploding is a reaction to something, it's obviously not the same thing in the slightest. Why do you think being "special" precludes something from also being "shooting"? There's no reason to think that. What do you do in the shooting phase? You do "shooting". If it...
  5. Lord Fear

    Invocation Question

    Uhh well I don't know everything but I know that's quite wrong! You roll for Hunger if the Vamp kills one or more models, so if you kill 3 rnf that's still only one chance. Thankfully, the one time I had a wounded Vamp hero kill some rank and file, she passed the Hunger role, which is nice...
  6. Lord Fear

    Invocation Question

    Anyone else have an opinion? It just seems off to me, but if everyone else is doing it, I will continue to do so as well...
  7. Lord Fear

    screaming at dudes

    Not the best comparison there. A special attack in the magic phase would indeed be considered MAGICAL by default- for example, the Lizardmen's Engine of the Gods' Burning Alignment is a special ability performed in the magic phase, and is confirmed as doing magical damage in an FAQ. Similarly...
  8. Lord Fear

    Invocation Question

    Just checking here on a similar matter: if you cast Invocation on, say, a Spirit Host or a Terrorgheist, you heal one wound. Can the Lore attribute also be used to heal a wound, or is that part of the spell as well, meaning only one wound healed in total?
  9. Lord Fear

    screaming at dudes

    Generally speaking, unless stated otherwise, even a "special attack" made in the shooting phase is to be considered a shooting attack. It IS called the shooting phase, after all.
  10. Lord Fear

    Odd questions!

    Just a quick FYI, I've spoken with the guys who write the ETC* FAQ, and they consider this matter so clear (Due to the "wipeout!" and "overrun!" sections both saying you can overrun if you've destroyed your enemy) that they won't even consider adding it to the FAQ. Personally I'm veering back...
  11. Lord Fear

    Can the coach ride again?

    You shouldn't be using it to fight anything that has +3CR over it. Otherwise, try and keep BSB nearby and get an invocation off each turn and will probably never die. Mine is doing just fine. In the games in my blog, it's terrorised Dark Elves, bagging Cauldron and Shades, got it into a Slann...
  12. Lord Fear

    Odd questions!

    I'd like to thank you for making your case so well, and including lots of page references and appropriate quotes, because it has really helped me get to the root of this problem! I think by RAW I'd have to concede that you are correct; I was trying to come up with a rationale that said that the...
  13. Lord Fear

    Vampire Battle Blog; Game 5 vs Tomb Kings

    Thanks and good question! Trolls in the Orc and Goblin army don't have magical vomit, unfortunately for Goblins (but fortunately for us!). I always though that Stone Trolls should have magical attacks to make them worth taking, but no, if you're facing a greenskin army, the only possible magic...
  14. Lord Fear

    Odd questions!

    Hmm, I can see where confusion is coming from. At its simplest, the overrun is described: P58: "If the victorious unit charged into combat and the enemy was wiped out, it can move 2D6 inches straight forward. So, if an enemy unit charges an Unstable unit, and wipes it out, then they get to...
  15. Lord Fear

    How does 'successfully cast' works...

    Yeah, was wondering where you were getting the word "successful" from. But it's certainly not there in the English language version of the book (And yes Tawg, we do use English spellings such as "neutralisation", rather than the American ones, on account of being English and not American, oddly...
Top