• It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more and sign-up! here.

📷 How to improve your miniature photography 📷

Hello fellow hobbyists! In this article I will try to show how you can easily improve your miniature photography with minimum expenses and simple effort.
The tutorial is meant to be from a layman to other laymen. I have no photography knowledge and the tools used are very affordable and easy to use, so anyone can benefit from this tutorial.

🛠️ TOOLS OF THE TRADE 🛠️

Photobox

The photobox is the first and most important step to improving the outcome of your miniature photos.
Personally I use the Puluz 20 cm photobox. It is big enough for my current needs and gets the job done.
It sells for about 10 € and comes with two led stripe panels, five different background cloths and a top hatch for an optional addition light source.
It allows easy focus of the miniatures (no clutter) and provides simple but effective lightning, as well as proper backgrounds to make your minis really pop.

Screenshot_2.jpg

Tips & Tricks

Use a stand

If you are photographing small to medium sized miniatures, it is good to put them on some kind of a stand and bring them closer to the light source
(in my experience Games Workshop's painting handle works, but any kind of medium sized box will do as well)

Light source positioning
Have the light source above and in front of the miniature. This photobox basically solves that automatically since it has led stripes on both ends of the top lid.
You can disconnect the cables to turn certain led stripes off. I prefer using only the front led stripe, with the miniature being in the middle of the box or a bit closer to the front.

Use appropriate backgrounds
Make sure you use the backgrounds that provide the best contrast and visibility to your miniatures.