• It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more and sign-up! here.
The Art of Greenstuffing - Sculpting basics by Johnny B

1870.jpg

This article was originally featured in Carpe Noctem's Invocation Magazine.

This article is aimed at green stuff users in general but hopefully everyone will be able to take something useful from it.
Instead of writing some rambling waffle, I’d like to keep it to the point, so it’s a bit abrupt.
Please note I am entirely self-taught, so cannot be held responsible for any outrageous, misleading habits that I may work in.

Greenstuff Basics

= Mixing =

A bit more blue than yellow, about 60:40 is generally the best ratio to mix.
GW GS usually comes in something approaching that, although other places sell better quality GS at better prices.

= Water =

Fingers and tools should be moist but not soaked when dealing with GS.
Too much water and it gets underneath the GS and it comes away from the model.
Too little and it sticks to your fingers and tools.

= Lamping =

Heating GS makes it cure faster. A desk lamp with exposed bulb will do fine. Leave the sculpt a few centimetres from it, and it should cure in 2-3 hours.
Note: This sounds obvious but plastic melts. This technique isn’t advisable on work done onto a plastic figure.
Unless he’s Nurgle, in which case anything goes.

= Mistakes =

If you get it wrong and it’s already cured, you can simply cut the offending piece of sculpting off and start again.
GS generally comes away easily from metal and plastic if you lever it off with a knife/sculpting tool.

= Smoothing =

Use the flat of your sculpting tool/knife to ensure flat surfaces are actually flat, and edges are straight.
Wet it a little, and push it back and forth gently over the surface a few times.
Use the edge of your (wet) finger to smooth organic shapes and remove fingerprints.