• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Completing the experiment

Chaos_Born

Master Necromancer
True Blood
Having tried out a cavalry force and found it to be fun, I now want to try another theme that I've never tried before: a simple shooting army. Never had more than one or two decent shooting units in an army before so I'm curious to see how different it is.

As such I'm looking for a 2500 point fantasy game where I will be using wood elves. Note that this is not a 'just for fun' game like my Ninja Skaven or O&G and I'm trying to make it competitive, however be aware that this is my first game with wood elves or heavy shooting EVER.

Chaos_Born

Master Necromancer
True Blood
Having discovered a new found hatred of the wood elf book, I'm going to produce a skaven shooting army instead. Not sure if such a thing is remotely viable, but it'll be worth it for the laughs.

So, anyone fancying a game against an experimental gunline?

Chaos_Born

Master Necromancer
True Blood
*sigh*

I looked through it and I really don't like the required play style. The way I see it, the only viable strategy to go is either lots of tree things (the idea of which I hate by the way) or MSU, which never suited me in the slightest. Also the lore of athel loren is...I would describe it but we're not allowed to swear on here so...

Anyway, for a variety of reasons, I'm not going to be using them:)

Anilar

Wight King
There is a reason wood elves use lore of life or beast on there level 4 mages. But true, they are very playstyle dependant army. Thou you can make Eternal guard army work, having a more rank and file approach to things. But not really that great for tournament plays.