• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Coven Throne result 1-2 and failed fear check.

Joined
Aug 25, 2009
Messages
14
#1
In this situation their WS is reduced to 0. Does this mean that they are unable to hit back at all?

If I remember correctly a model with WS 0 is hit automatically, but couldn't see anything about them being able to hit back?
 

Melle

Sir Larpsalot, champion of larpers
True Blood
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
1,154
#2
Will be hit automatic and cannot hit back I believe it is
 

arbogast

Grave Guard
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
208
#4
Melle said:
Will be hit automatic and cannot hit back I believe it is
Almost.

1. Beginning of combat round, Fear check failed (WS1)
2. Before the enemy makes their attacks, Coven Throne check results in 1-2 (-1 WS)
3. = WS 0. (automatically hit).

(Edited version)
 

Johnny-Crass

Vampire Ancient
True Blood
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
6,640
#7
Nope you still hit on a 6. Notice it says always. yes you get auto hit but you can still hit back
 

TobiasRathein

Black Knight
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
307
#8
Johnny is 100% correct. Even with weapon skill 0 you can hit back; only on it's on a 6.

If you have anything that would reduce your ability to hit (like the zombie dragon aura) you still hit on 6s.

So, to recap.

You fail a fear test. Weapon skill 1.
You fail the battle of wills test. Weapon skill 0. Automatically hit, hit on 6s.
You are in combat with a zombie dragon. His aura gives you -1 to hit; you still hit on 6s.
 

Johnny-Crass

Vampire Ancient
True Blood
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
6,640
#9
If you roll too low, the Attack has missed, and if you equal or beat the required score the attack has hit. Sometimes modifers apply to these rolls but a natural dice score of a 6 always hits
Page 50
 

arbogast

Grave Guard
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
208
#10
Johnny-Crass said:
Nope you still hit on a 6. Notice it says always. yes you get auto hit but you can still hit back
Whoops. Was reading into something that wasn't there. :slapface:

Not a banner day for me regarding rules...:redface:
 
Top