• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Farmer's Rust Experiments

Farmer7574

Vampire Count
True Blood
So I haven't had much motivation to sit down and concentrate on things for a prolonged period of time these days due to the humidity, and so decided to play about with different rust techniques.

I can be quite indecisive when deciding on a colour scheme for a mini (or the next 200), so I'd appreciate your feedback on which method looks the best.

I'm new to painting rust but have come up with the following 15 results using a variety of techniques (thanks to the guys that have given me advice here on CN).

Excuse the bad photography. I'll edit the post with painting directions for each experiment in the next few days when I have more time so that beginners can get some ideas on where to start painting their weathered skellies.

proxy.php?image=http%3A%2F%2Fi60.tinypic.com%2F2rylkj7.jpg&hash=42841a0731e7c5a99f3c5d19b9cb20b4

Cheers

EDIT: Painting Steps

BC = Base coat, DB = Dry brush, ST = Stipple, OB = Over brush, FL = Flick, HL = Highlight, W = Wash, L = Layer

All of these were done on a Vallejo Black Surface Primer.

1. ST Mournfang / ST Ryza / OB Leadbelcher / W Agrax / HL Ironbreaker
2. BC Leadbelcher / ST Mournfang / ST Ryza / W Nuln / ST Leadbelcher / W Agrax / HL Ironbreaker
3. ST Mournfang / ST Ryza / W Nuln / DB Leadbelcher / W Agrax / HL Ironbreaker
4. BC Leadbelcher / W Mournfang 1:2 Water / W Previous mix + 1/4 Troll Slayer Orange / DB & HL Ironbreaker
5. BC Leadbelcher / W Nuln (crevices only) / L Leadbelcher / FL Reikland / FL Feugan / HL Ironbreaker
6. BC Mournfang / ST Ryza / DB Leadbelcher / W Agrax / HL Ironbreaker