• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Magic lance Nerf?

Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
103
#1
I saw this while skimming my copy of the new rule book and wanted your guys opinion on this.

Lances are not used on turns you are not charging*, but you must always use your magic weapon. So does that mean that you switch to your hand weapon or continue to use your magic lance?

* as opposed to only providing a bonus on turns you charge
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
551
#2
I think it should remain how it was before, use the magic lance all the time since its a magic weapon but you only get the +2 strength when you charged. Then again it would make sense not to use the lance when not charging but maybe we shouldn't apply real life situations to a game about magic and elves and ogres :D
 

Humaneater

Black Knight
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
395
#3
Lances provide their bonus while charging, that doesn't mean they don't get used after the charge. The thing there about swapping to hand weapons and stuff is fluff, not rules I think - that confused me at first.

Thing is, if you're using either lance, Dreadlance or Balefire spike, I don't know why you would want to use a hand weapon afterwards. Just because the "Lance" part of their rules provides no bonus after the charge, they still Autohit/flaming afterwards :)
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
103
#4
Humaneater said:
Lances provide their bonus while charging, that doesn't mean they don't get used after the charge. The thing there about swapping to hand weapons and stuff is fluff, not rules I think - that confused me at first.
The new Lance rules are '+2 S*' with the note being that you switch to your hand weapon when not charging.
 

Humaneater

Black Knight
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
395
#5
:S really? I only read the rulebook at a mates for a few hours, I don't actually own one, so you may be right. If so, then this'll probably be FAQ'd, but for the sake of your own sanity, I'd suggest that you use the "I'm using this one" rule as precedence - i.e. you'll always use the magic weapon over your hand weapon. This is just one of those odd, flat-out contradictions that GW loves making just for us magic-lance users xD
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
103
#6
I can't remember the exact wording and am at work so I can't check but that did stand out to me a bit when I read it as it was a change. So I could be wrong on the lance rules but I am pretty sure.
 

Goggalor

Necromancer
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
862
#7
The lance is only used when on the charge as otherwise he uses his hand weapon, but as a magical weapon he/she has to use this instead. So in my opinion the magic bit overides the normal bit, impractical yes but this is why it is fantasy battles though.
 

Bishop

Master Necromancer
True Blood
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
2,887
#8
Well, Lance is a rule now which specifies that it is only usable on the turn that the user charges. So, IMO, any magic weapon with the Lance descriptor would also follow that rule as well.
 

Cobra7

Grave Guard
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
251
#9
Unless FAQ'd I will stick to the "I'm useing this one" rule.

It's spacifically under the magic items section which will apply to magic lances.

I can see the point of lances and spears, if my opponent protested I would likely submit without an argument. not worth getting people mad over it.

As far as fluff, I don't see a mounted guy dropping a magic lance to the ground to get a sword. He'll be ridding around poking people with it. Wont get the 2S, but still get the magic.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
103
#10
Bishop said:
Well, Lance is a rule now which specifies that it is only usable on the turn that the user charges. So, IMO, any magic weapon with the Lance descriptor would also follow that rule as well.
Here is the issue though. The Lance rule specifies the use of your hand weapon. The "I'll use this one" rule says that if you have a magic weapon you have to use it. preventing you from following the Lance rule.
 

midean

Vampire Count
True Blood
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
1,098
#11
The magic weapon rule would overide the lance rule in this situation. If you have a magic weapon you must use it.
 
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
561
#12
I believe that magic weapon overides that rule... The rule book says you always have to use magic weapon, because the character has learned to use it and won't chance the wepon (unless it's destroyed). So that in mind, I'd say he uses the magical weapon always, even though it's a lance...
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
103
#13
Skarsnik the Lord said:
So that in mind, I'd say he uses the magical weapon always, even though it's a lance...
Which means you always get +2 S. So Broken no matter how you do it. I think I am just going to use Lances in 7th ed style.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
107
#15
Fodderboy said:
IvorTangrean said:
Which means you always get +2 S.
Only on the charge, as per lance rules.
Not so! If I remember correctly, the new Lance rules state that the lance grants +2S, but that you put it away after the first round of combat. If the Magic Weapon rule overrides the "put it away" part, then you'll allways have that +2S throughout the combat.
 

Bishop

Master Necromancer
True Blood
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
2,887
#16
Paraphrased: Lance is only used on the turn that you charge. In subsequent rounds, or if you didn't charge, then hand weapon is used instead.
 

Draemock

Grave Guard
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
230
#17
Damn...I was just about to ask if you only had a magic lance like Dread lance would you have to put it away but i just checked the VC book...

Vamps come with a Hand weapon so....grrrrrrrrrr
 

Humaneater

Black Knight
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
395
#18
Thing is there are always going to be direct contradictions with no way around them until they are FAQ'd. So, until them I'd play house rules or, if you're in gw, what the manager says.
 
Top