• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Multiple Magical Standards

Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
708
#3
I dont think we can have more than 2 in one unit (unitstandard+bsb) but yeah, both will affect the unit or the opponent.
 

Alabaster427

Minister of Thriftiness
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
1,315
#4
I dont think we can have more than 2 in one unit (unitstandard+bsb) but yeah, both will affect the unit or the opponent.
I am not sure, but I think in 7th edition, you could have more than two by capturing standards, hence the point of the Cursed Banner. I think it's been a while for @Eternal Salvation, so he might need some brushing up on rules changes.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
708
#5
Capturing standards can only be done in closecombat but only pays off in Victory Points, 25pts/banner i think.
Ive never heard of capturing banners and being able to use them in 8th ed.
 

Alabaster427

Minister of Thriftiness
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
1,315
#6
Capturing standards can only be done in closecombat but only pays off in Victory Points, 25pts/banner i think.
Ive never heard of capturing banners and being able to use them in 8th ed.
"Capturing" a banner doesn't do anything in 8th edition except for Beastmen and Blood and Glory, I think. Even then, Blood and Glory doesn't really count it as "capturing," you just have to kill the bannerman. I didn't play 7th edition much, but I know that the cursed banner, when captured, caused D6 S4 hits against the unit; the unit could discard the banner to stop taking the hits, but would lose the capturing bonus. I don't know if capturing a banner otherwise did anything for the unit. Regardless, two is the max for 8th edition.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2014
Messages
190
#7
Okay, thanks for the help guys!
Lots has changed since 7th, it seems. Also I've heard people talking about 9th Ed coming. Hopefully I can get a handle on the rules before they change again!
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
708
#8
Im pretty sure capturing a regular banner gives Victory Points. Just as capturing a battle standard gives 100 victory points.

I have no book available so i cant do any research but id advise to look into that @Alabaster427
 
Top