New To Warhammer, Need Pointers on my 2500 army

Armoured

Zombie
So I'm just starting out, my teacher runs a mean dark elves army and doesn't often lose to anyone. I am currently building my army and have a general Idea of what I want to run and do. Below I will list my selections and point costs. I have researched my unit choices thoroughly and I definitely want to run black coaches if I take rares at all. I have researched them thoroughly and understand that most people just use them incorrectly (by themselves with no cav support). All unit champions and musicians were taken.
Lords- Count Mannfred (530 pts)
Core- Crypt Ghouls x30(310 pts)
Skeleton Warriors x40/w swiftness standard and spears(235 pts)
Zombies x25(85 pts)
Specials- where I need help!
Vargheist x6(286 pts)
Black Knights x10(330)pts,x5(200) with barding,lances, and Banner of Barrows
Grave Guard x24(319 pts) Mannfred will be on foot with them plus war banner
Hexwraiths x5(160 pts)
Rare-Black Coach x2(390 pts)

So I'm 15 over if I take 5 hexwraiths with 5 black knights and want to take 2 black coaches. Ideally would it be better to cut out 1 black coach add 5 more black knights and give myself a few more skeleton warriors or zombies as tar pits?

Last edited:

Lynks

Lord of RAW
Staff member
True Blood
I should preface this by saying I've not played in a while so my word should be taken with a grain of salt.

I will always be a staunch defender of black coaches, however taking more than 1 us generally not that great an idea because they have to share the dice from evocation of death, making them charge up a lot slower and you really want them to get to at least level 3 as quickly as possible.

In that light I would probably drop the second black coach in favour of a hero, rather than more knights. Whether a necromancer or a vampire, it's pretty important to have a back up in case your lord dies- both in terms of having access to spells/ not losing your entire magic defense capabilties.