• It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more and sign-up! here.

Mannerheim27

True Blood
Sep 29, 2009
Minnesota
Hi everyone!

As I finally got my apartment all set up and ready to go, I found an old folder of mine that I’ve been compiling articles and anything painting related. I’ve had this folder since I was a freshman in college and it’s helped me come a ways in the painting aspect of the hobby. Since I looked around and didn’t see a thread like this, I thought I’d share some of this info for this forum. If anyone else has anything to add, feel free to post and I’ll add it to the forward post.

When it comes to painting, here are some general suggestions to take in before you’re about to put the paint to the mini looking up at you from your work area:

Do your research:

Take the term research with a grain of salt, no one expects you to grab entire textbooks and settle down at a desk for hours on end to learn everything about painting, but it is a good idea to pick up some magazines here and there or browse some sites about different techniques. There are many great websites out there, including this one, where you can learn many different approaches and techniques to us. Look up different ways to look at colors, learn the basics of color theory. The more information you gain, the better you can approach the hobby. You’d be surprised what you can learn.

Always ask questions: