• Roll-up! Roll-up! Come one and all the fantastic Turning the World to Darkness painting competition. Welcome to any skill level, you can find out more here.
  • It's time once again to ferret out those murderous vampires in a new VAU - Vampires Amongst Us. A cross between Cluedo and a roleplay, sometimes gory and often hilarious! Find out more here.

Zombie bunker

Pardon my complete ignorance if this is a stupid question, but I've seen the term 'Zombie Bunker' used a number of times in the forum and was wondering exactly what one was??

I haven't played VCs since 6th ed, where Necromancers could run around as they liked without being targeted, providing they didn't stray too far from from friendly units of course! I'm guessing the bunker is a ploy to protect the Necromancer from the 7th ed targeting rules??

PS please don't belittle the newbie - just point me in the direction of the thread answering this question if it's already here and I've missed it!

( A fellow newbie here.. )

Anyway, I believe that is the cheapest and smallest possible amount of Zombies that are used to guard a character while he/she does his thing.

Though, I wonder if thats correct on the other hand..

Thrask

If that's the case, then wouldn't a 'ghoul bunker' work better as a Necromancer in a unit of skirmishers has 360 degree line of site and ghouls are harder to target with shooting and can hug terrain??

Or is the ability to replenish the unit you are cowering in (zombies) using Invocation of greater significance??

Well, Ghouls have the Scavengers rule, which makes them Skirmishers -and- doesn't allow characters from joining them.

On the second question I don't have an answer since I have yet to even play a game.

Thrask

In 7th ed characters are much more vulnerable. If not in a unit they can be shot down. The usual solution is to put characters out of sight or in units.